using Komplete Kontrol in Garageband (newbie question)

colmosiris
colmosiris Member Posts: 10 Member

I have a Komplete Kontrol S25 and a MacBook Pro running OS 10.14. I've installed everything from Native Access, but I have no idea how to find them in Garageband. Native Instruments does appear if I select a plugin for a track, but there's very little there, and no instruments.

Perhaps there's still something else I need to do? I am a musician with so far very little knowledge of these things. I have a Casio MIDI electric piano, and I can use that ok in Garageband, but this Komplete Kontrol keyboard has got me beat! Many thanks for reading.

Best Answers

Answers

• Uwe303
    Uwe303 Moderator Posts: 2,966 mod

Hello,

I'm not a mac user so i don't know garage band but this looks to me like a list of FX, you have to create an instrument track and insert it there as first plugin.

• colmosiris

thanks Uwe303. i thought i'd already done that, but now i'm not so sure. i'm in touch with someone at NI now, so hopefully they can help me get started.

• Jeremy_NI
    Jeremy_NI Customer Care Posts: 9,305 mod
    Answer ✓

@colmosiris Did you check the "lower security" part of this article? How to Insert Native Instruments Plug-ins in GarageBand

• Jeremy_NI
    Answer ✓

Do Komplete Kontrol and Garageband both have Full Disk Access? How to Enable Full Disk Access on macOS

• colmosiris
    edited November 2022

thank you. no, they don't. so far, people keep telling me to do that, but no-one has explained why. i know how to do it (though no software has ever asked me to do this before), not why. please can you explain? thank you.

• colmosiris

ok, i've done that now, because i just wanted to get on with it. don't like it though. and restarted the computer, but as it happens it made naff-all difference anyway. i can still see no instruments, only effects, as per original image.