Help with initial setup

ste20man
ste20man Member Posts: 34 Member
edited September 2022 in Komplete General

Hi.

Have ordered a Macbook Pro M1 64GB and am going to buy Komplete 14.

I use FL Studio as my DAW.

I am completely new to Mac's and am wondering if one of you guys might know the answer to a question I have.

FL is native on the M1 chip which is great as I have heard it runs really well on it. I guess my main question is, even though FL is now native, should I run FL in rosetta 2 mode as parts of NI's Komplete 14 are still NOT native?

Am I better running everything in Rosetta just soo all the plugins are in the same sandbox / Rosetta if you like?

Lastly, where is the best place going to be to buy Komplete 14?

I've found it for £503 but am not sure if I should buy it straight from NI?

If you can answer any of them questions or have any other tips and tricks that I might need starting out on a new OS I'd be really grateful.

Thanks for your time in advance, ste!

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Ronny Bangsund
    Ronny Bangsund Member Posts: 71 Helper
    Answer ✓

If Battery, Reaktor or any instrument based on the Reaktor engine (like Razor and Monark, I think) are part of your workflow, prepare to run in Rosetta mode until next year. The various compressor simulators are uncertain, since they only give a vague "Q4 2022" estimate. Everything seems to work for most people on the various M1 series. I'm waiting for the K14 unlock before I can test the latest versions of some plugins/apps though.

Where to buy? Well, starting with this release I've read that there's no technical reason to buy the boxed version. You'll just get a download code anyway. On the other hand, buying it from your friendly, local gear store is probably good too. Perhaps the box will at least contain a piece of microfibre cloth or some stickers? :P