Some engines do work, and some not

michelkeijzers
michelkeijzers Member Posts: 22 Member
edited August 2022 in Reaktor

I am a complete newbie, installed NI Komplete Start today and playing a bit around.

In Reaktor, I have set the audio / midi preferences, and when playing my master keyboard I can get sounds from e.g. the TRK-01 Bass engine, e.g. TRK-01: "Bass.ens" or fromMikro Prism: "Mikro Prism.rkplr".

However, most engines don't work, like 'Reaktor Factory Selection R2": "Carbon 2.ens".

The screen shows the CARBON2 Reaktor Library engine (if it's called engine), but when playing my master keyboard no sound is audible. I made a picture of it, see below.

I have the same problem with many sounds in Komplete Kontrol itself, where I hear a 'preview' sound, but not when I play on the master keyboard, while for some other sounds I hear the correct sound. Sounds from the following engines do not seem to work:

• Play Series Sel.
  • Kinetic Treats
  • Reaktor Selection R2

The following engine works:

• Mikro Prism

What am I doing wrong?

Best Answers

• Blindeddie
    Blindeddie Member Posts: 1,559 Expert
    Answer ✓

Some of the Reaktor Instruments are set to accept input only on Midi Channel 1, some can accept Omni (any midi Channel...like Mikro Prism) Make sure you KB is set to Transmit on Midi Channel 1. Unfortunately, the Reaktor Player that comes with Komplete Start does not allow you to modify the Midi Inpit channel of the Instruments so you KB needs to be set properly...This would also explain why Play Series and Kinetic Treats are not working since when you load an Instrument into Kontakt, it defaults to receive on Midi Channel 1.

• Paule
    Paule Member Posts: 1,328 Expert
    Answer ✓

For some ensembles you've to start the MIDI clock. In Reaktor standalone press the spacebar.

• michelkeijzers
    edited August 2022 Answer ✓

Hello, thanks for your answer. Changing the MIDI channel to 1 immediately helped.