Features in Maschine SW but not on Maschine+ standalone

tribepop
tribepop Member Posts: 160 Advisor

Hi I'm still learning all the specifics of my M+ and how it differs from the SW while in standalone mode. I'm just wondering if anyone has a list of features that aren't available in standalone so that I can get a better idea of what kind of workarounds I'll need to come up with when working exclusively in standalone mode.

So far the two things I've noticed is:

• No one-click ability to export track to audio (in SW, you can click the icon above the note editor to automatically export the track's audio and drop it on another track). Obviously this feature uses the PC's GUI, but it kind of sucks not having an option in M+. The current workflow is to create another sound/group and sample the audio internally there.
  • No startup templates. This isn't a huge issue, I just copied over the template to the SD and just have to remember to "Save As..." everytime I open it.

Anyone notice anything else that's very useful but is only implemented in the SW version?

Best Answer

• D-One
    D-One Moderator Posts: 2,811 mod
    edited September 2022 Answer ✓

Nah, audio export is available in from the File menu, Export Audio is under the top Button-5.

No template is a bit odd/annoying but you can make it a bit easier on yourself by locking or making the file 'read-only' from your computer, this way you won't ever accidentally save over it.

Anyone notice anything else that's very useful but is only implemented in the SW version?

What's useful is quite subjective but the differences are mostly about things you do with a mouse or things that directly correlate to a full OS, at the top of my head:

• No content tagging or editing.
    • No MIDI Mapping ability.
    • No way to edit Modulation.
    • Limited file management, file-browsing, user lib folder structure and no direct "File" browser.
    • No way to export/import MIDI.
    • No custom Metronome sounds.