How to record the arrangement in one pass, with all the automations on Maschine ?

spock
spock Member Posts: 25 Helper

Hello, sorry in advance for my English,

One feature i use a lot on Push 2 is to record a live performance from session view directly into arrangement to create a basic structure, to capture the moment.

How to record the arrangement in one pass, with all the automations, notes, mutes... which were played live on maschine?

I find that the pattern creation workflow is excellent on Maschine but the automations and the arrangement are really not intuitive and fun, as a musician I prefer to play and tweak live rather than doing "arrangement programming "

Best Answer

• D-One
    D-One Moderator Posts: 2,811 mod
    Answer βœ“

It's a bit of a duality since MAS is based on a very instrument/live workflow but the arrangement is the opposite, you're meant to program it... It's unfortunate but this is something that affects all HW/SW in the same category as Maschine (like MPC's and whatnot). There's no way to record Mutes either. This has been massively requested for many, many years... It was announced that the NI team was working on this when MAS Jam was released.... in 2016 but since then they apparently gave up and moved on to focus on other things. πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ

As far as tips to workaround it there's nothing perfect but maybe this these can help:

For automation/modulation if you already have a basic Arrangement set and loop turned off then you can simply do an automation pass over the full song... This can work but if Mutes and such have a lot of influence on the way you automate then it might be far from a solution. For this to work the user has to think about the track-building process as a multi-stage thing.