Traktor Kontrol X1 Mk1 or Mk2?

John Deere Traktor
John Deere Traktor Member Posts: 20 Member

Traktor noob here, I just bought a Z2 and now I need the controller to trigger the right deck.

There doesn't seem to be a great deal of difference, from those who experienced both which one would you get?

Tagged:

Comments

• Sûlherokhh
    Sûlherokhh Member, Traktor Mapping Mod Posts: 1,660 mod
    edited August 2022

The touchstrip is a great addition so i would say Mk2, which is also still supported by NI. If you like remapping controls, the Mk1 has 4 instead of 3 knobs. Price looks to be about the same, although you may get lucky with the Mk1, which will probably only be available second hand and thus maybe cheaper.

Edit: You may get two D2's for a bargain for much the same reason as the X1Mk1. They still work and are just awesome. Buy maybe one first and have a go. If you don't like it, i am sure you could resell it for the same price. Also the D2 is sturdy as hell while the X1Mk2 is a bit touchy with it's touch sensitive knobs.

• Patch
    Patch Member Posts: 227 Pro

X1 Mk1 is a work horse. Would not be without mine. I've even got a spare one just in case...

• John Deere Traktor

Thanks for the advice guys, looking at them both they really don't look much different. I just bought a Z2 and I can already do loops from it & hot cues. Just found out that I can hold shift and press A & B to play tracks in software mode so what is the benefit of an X1? I guess the effects section, but there are only 3 knobs per side!

Not sure about the D2, if this is just a stems thing then it's not for me, not interested in breaking tracks down into their different elements.

Does Mk1 have touch sensitive knobs? Quite like the library feature, but then I can do that from the mixer too 😂

• John Deere Traktor