Converting clips to patterns

ElEorstro
ElEorstro Member Posts: 13 Member
edited July 2022 in Maschine

Hi - I’m new to mashine.

I’m using the MK3 with the software on a Mac.

Ive accidentally made a bunch of clips when I wanted to make patterns - is there any way to convert them to patterns ? I did look and can see a lot of tutorials on going from patterns to clips but I can’t find anything on going the other way?

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Blindeddie
    Blindeddie Member Posts: 1,559 Expert
    Answer ✓

No clip to pattern conversion...it was discussed in the dev plan, but have heard no mention of it in quite some time...

Answers

• Blindeddie
    Answer ✓

No clip to pattern conversion...it was discussed in the dev plan, but have heard no mention of it in quite some time...

• ElEorstro

Ok so the best option is to just do it all over again :(

• ElEorstro

It’s still not fully clear to me the use cases around patterns vs clips and pros and cons of each.

I actually thought I was making patterns and realised after I had been working in clip mode when I tried to start creating scenes.

i will do some more research and try and get a better understanding of when to use each one.

• Blindeddie

you can copy the events from the clips and past into a new pattern...

• tempsperdu
    tempsperdu Member Posts: 291 Pro

Unfortunately the implementation of clips has made the workflow arguably more difficult than is 'ideal'

If you do not have a section highlighted when you start a new pattern, then by default, it creates a clip. If it is highlighted it creates a pattern.

Patterns have to conform to legacy behaviour and are immovable and levels have to conform to each other.

Presumably because of legacy restrictions, clips were created to work as a level on top of patterns and are freely movable and do not have to conform lengthwise.