Something old, something new. Which Mac (for now)?

holonology
holonology Member Posts: 78 Helper
edited June 2022 in Tech Talks

Hiya folks. TL;DR I have a question about whether an old or new Mac is my best bet for getting set up with NI tools.

Longer version: My current idea is to buy the Maschine Mikro Mk3 and the M32 keyboard and make heavy use of use the software bundles they come with. As I'm new to the ecosystem of NI, I was hoping others with hands-on experience of the software/hardware could help me understand my computer choices.

I have an old iMac that still works, but is starting to show its age and cannot be upgraded past OSX 10.15.3. Initially, I started looking at something like a 14" Macbook Pro as an upgrade to this. But while researching the Maschine Mikro/M32, I noticed the topic of compatibility with the latest Mac computers has come up a lot. From what I read, it sounds as though the latest M1 chips could be somewhat/very problematic or unstable.

Based on all that, I'm now wondering if the old iMac would actually be preferable/more stable for MM & M32 in the short term? Or, is the 14" Macbook Pro a better option, even though it will be running the software etc through Rosetta, and with all the teething troubles etc?

I'm in no rush to upgrade, and I'd be less likely to swap the computer if sticking with it gives me a more stable base to try the NI tools out on in the short term. I'd be really grateful for any insight into this. Thanks. 🙂

Comments

• Tony Jones
    Tony Jones Member Posts: 261 Pro

M1 will be more than fine for getting into the ecosystem

• Jojo123
    Jojo123 Member Posts: 231 Advisor