Play a midi file on Maschine+

mutk
mutk Member Posts: 5 Newcomer
edited May 2022 in Maschine

Greetings all, complete novice here. I have had a Maschine+ for 2 days or so. I have a rudimentary midi file of drums.

I'd like to somehow play it back utilising my Maschine+.

I have Reaper as a DAW it shows Maschine+ as a device for sending midi to, and I have it enabled. I have the midi file itself 'playing' in Reaper and it emits awful sounds when I use the built in Windows midi.

I have tried a couple of things but none have resulted in sounds triggered by midi playing on the Maschine+.

I had assumed that I could in fact simply upload the file to the SD storage. I have done that but browsing the SD card I find nothing I can access or load.

I guess I should ask - is copying a MIDI file to the SD and playing that a valid use case, or something I should give up? If so how should I set up the Maschine+ to trigger drums via MIDI where the Windows host is the controller?

Thanks a bunch in advance to anyone that answers :)

Tagged:

Best Answer

• D-One
    D-One Moderator Posts: 2,811 mod
    edited May 2022 Answer ✓

I have Reaper as a DAW it shows Maschine+ as a device for sending midi to, and I have it enabled. I have the midi file itself 'playing' in Reaper and it emits awful sounds when I use the built in Windows midi.

You have to configure the Group receiving the MIDI and tell it some basics about the MIDI it will receive, to make it simple lets assume your MIDI is in a single DAW track, using Channel 1 and starts at C3, this:

Then you would have to go to GROUP > Input change the Key Mode to Manual and use the rest of following settings:

I guess I should ask - is copying a MIDI file to the SD and playing that a valid use case, or something I should give up?

I'm not aware of any way to import/load MIDI files in M+ standalone mode.