question re: tempo faders

d_j_m
d_j_m Member Posts: 54 Helper

This is a TOTAL newb question, please be kind.

I'm using Traktor 3 with an S2.

I'm getting super frustrated with the tempo faders on my controller because sometimes when I try and give one a tiny tiny nudge, the tempo JUMPS instead (totally random example: i have a song on 117bpm and it jumps to 128bpm instead of to the 119bpm or so that I was going for). I've been trying to record a set for a week and THIS is the thing that has ruined every attempt so far, lol...

What the h-ll is going on??? Maybe this is a setting? Can I change this? Please tell me I can change this. SO frustrating. I can catch it manually sometimes but i'd rather just be rid of this "feature" if I may.

Best Answers

• mode:masters
    mode:masters Member Posts: 8 Member
    Answer ✓

go to settings, at the bottom left you will have S2 settings. Change tempo fader to RELATIVE not ABSOLUTE. In this mode if you run out of pitch fader room hold shift, move fader to center, release shift. Holding shift prevents the fader movement from registering, allowing you to return the fader to a better position.

• d_j_m
    Answer ✓

@mode:masters thank you.

Answers

• c0nsul
    c0nsul Member Posts: 295 Pro

Have you tried fiddling around in the preference settings?

Preferences > Transport > Tempo: set tempo range

• mode:masters
    mode:masters Member Posts: 8 Member
    Answer ✓

go to settings, at the bottom left you will have S2 settings. Change tempo fader to RELATIVE not ABSOLUTE. In this mode if you run out of pitch fader room hold shift, move fader to center, release shift. Holding shift prevents the fader movement from registering, allowing you to return the fader to a better position.

• d_j_m
    Answer ✓

@mode:masters thank you.

• d_j_m

@c0nsul I have! It turns out it I was using sync wrong. So I spent last night correcting a bad habit. Thank god I'm still new and didn't let that get too far.

• D2Lover