Kontakt and Komplete Kontrol / S88 out of synch

Merlins_Quest
Merlins_Quest Member Posts: 2 Newcomer
edited April 2022 in Kontakt

Firstly, apologies for the length of this description. I’ve been running KK13 Ultimate Collector’s edition since October 2021.

2020 M1 Mac Mini with 16GB running Big Sur, currently v 11.6.4 and KK S88 keyboard.

Prior to this issue I’ve mostly run Kontakt instruments from inside Logic Pro X. 

The only niggling issue I’ve had until now, is that the browser button on the S88 occasionally disables itself and I have to restart the keyboard to get it back. NB. Until now I’ve never needed to run Komplete Kontrol in order to use the S88. Kontakt has always synched with it, and loading Kontakt instruments within Logic, automatically opened them in the S88 browser.

Suddenly since a few days ago, the browser control on the S88 won’t operate without Komplete Kontrol running in standalone. This has never been required before.   

If I open an instrument in Kontakt (stand-alone), while it doesn’t appear in the S88 window, it does play. But, if I open the instrument in Komplete Kontrol, I get horrible distortion.

I’ve tried reinstalling both Kontakt and Komplete Kontrol.  Now when I launch Kontakt I see the message “Importing Kontakt Factory Presets” in the data base window, but nothing happens, and the wheel just keeps on turning all night long. I can see the library content in the left pane of Kontakt and select the instruments, but they don’t load in the S88 browser. When I open Komplete Kontrol, I get a pop up in Kontakt saying “please close and re-start Kontakt after a sample rate change”.  So, it seems like there is a sample rate mismatch between the two apps. When I restart Kontakt, it crashes immediately if Komplete Kontrol is still open. If I close Komplete Kontrol and hit the  restart button in Kontakt, it loads, but then I’m back to “importing Kontakt Factory Pre-sets”

The sample library is stored on an external 4GB WD hard drive.