Guitar Player Needing Some Advice about Expansion Packs

DaGuy007
DaGuy007 Member Posts: 7 Member
edited April 2022 in Maschine

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to Maschine, and I'm as green as they get. My main instrument is guitar play and will use Maschine+ to compose, to practice, play live etc. therefore looking for basic drum patterns to play blues, rock and jazz. I know I can make my own but I'm thinking that there's probably something out there that covers this. What expansion packs should I be looking at?

Thanks!😀

Comments

• Matt_NI
    Matt_NI Administrator Posts: 1,106 admin

That's one for @Peter Harris, he knows all there is to know about Expansions 🤓

• PK The DJ
    PK The DJ Member Posts: 998 Guru
  • Peter Harris
    Peter Harris Member Posts: 470 Pro
    edited April 2022

That's very nice of you to say @Matt_NI. 😁 Unfortunately my expertise is mainly in 'having no self-control when it comes to impulse purchases' as well as 'investing in music companies via expansion purchases'.

But I'll try to offer some suggestions:

If you could only afford two I'd grab Soul Magic and Satin Looks, first because they're generally fabulous but especially because they are stylistic surveys of super-influential genres with well-labelled kits from the 50s/60s/70s/80s/90s/00s. Great value, super educational/informative and just plain fun too.

Matnetik on Soul Magic: https://youtube.com/clip/UgkxgN2rx1c0_95jh5NiXkS8txxVxHauZ7RB

Beau Tyler on Satin Looks https://youtu.be/ZDxPqqjIH3M

But for your purpose, this one is a must-have too: Decoded Forms. It's like a drumbreak byconstruction kit and it's incredible. One of the most underappreciated expansions of all IMHO.

That should definitely get you started with expansions. But one more must-have for what you're looking for is MIDI Drum Pattern 1&2. Check out their video and it may be exactly what you're looking for and it's crazy affordable!

"Maschine MDP 2" https://www.boyss-sound-e-scapes.com/maschine-mdp-2.html